How can you file a complaint against domestic violence?

Last updated on Apr 8, 2022

[Trigger Warning: The following content contains information on domestic violence which some readers may find disturbing.]

You or anyone on your behalf, can approach the authorities listed below to file a complaint against any domestic violence that you have been facing:

Police

Go to the Police Station 

You can approach the police station in your area, or any other police station, and file a complaint for domestic violence. The police will file a DIR/FIR and/or direct you to the Protection Officer of the district who will be able to help you out further.

Protection Officer

Approach the Protection Officer 

To file a complaint, the Protection Officer of the district will be the first point of contact for you. The Protection Officer will help you file a Domestic Incident Report (DIR), make applications to the Court to get you monetary relief, protection etc. A state-by-state list of Protection Officers is given here. If you cannot find the Protection Officer of your area, you can reach out to NGOs, civil society organizations and service providers who will put you in touch with one.

National and State Commissions for Women

Approach the National/State Commission for Women

National Commission for Women (NCW) is a national-level government organization that is empowered to investigate complaints related to issues faced by women, such as domestic violence, dowry harassment, rape, etc. The NCW will help you by:

  • Monitoring and expediting the investigations being led by the police.
  • Providing counselling or a hearing before the NCW, so that the dispute can be resolved between the two parties.
  • Constituting an Inquiry Committee which makes spot inquiries, examines witnesses, collects evidence and submits the report with recommendations regarding the domestic violence.

You can get in touch with them by either calling the helpline number 1091, or sending an email to ncw@nic.in or filing an online complaint. As the NCW is located in New Delhi, you can approach the State Commission of Women situated in your state, and ask them for help.

Some states provide handbooks for ASHA workers where you can find more information on forms on violence, where it can happen and how to file a complaint to seek protection against domestic violence. For example, see this handbook published for ASHA in Chattisgarh, Delhi, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 4.1 / 5. Vote count: 39

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Please share your feedback about this post!

Sharing feedback will help us improve our content. Tell us how!

If you want to keep your feedback confidential, please mention it in your feedback. If you have a question, please ask us in the comments or Ask Nyaaya sections.

Comments

Sandeep kour

August 21, 2022

My mother in law beaten me…

Nyaaya

August 25, 2022

You can use the Ask Nyaaya Helpline to ask us any legal questions.

Vartika verma

February 23, 2024

Mam last kuch years se bht pareshan hai humare papa ka behaviour bht toxic hota ja Raha h day by day ,pehle sirf daaru pikr aate the idr udr ki baatein karte the vo bhi negative,or ab pikr aana maar Peet karna ,maarne ki dhamki dena shuru kar dia hai,badnami na ho isliye hum shanti se jhel rhe the sab kuch par ab ni jhela ja Raha h humko itna Darr rehta h ki hum apni maa ko 1din k liye chhodh kr kahi ja ni sakte.unko kuch ni bolte par unko ye lagta h ki paise kamane vale bss vhi h ghr m to hum log jhelenge hi aise ya vaise.pr ab ni hora hai mam future career sab dao p laga h ab to humko bhi gaali dete h or maa rokti h to unko bhi dete h or bolte h jyada udo ni jyada sar p mat chadhao,btaiye,kya karein…aisa hi chalta raha to hum kuch kar hi ni payenge or apne hi jaise kisi janwar se shadi kra denge ye humari zabardasti.hum sirf 20 saal k h or abhi bss apni padhai p focus krna chahte h mam,or iss toxic environment se nikalna chahte h apni maa k sath,or hn ye Jo insaan h jo hmesha abhadra bhasa ka prayog krta h ye bhi ni dekhta saamne beti h vo khud police m h head constable h or usi ka ghamand h ki police m h to koi kuch ni kar skta… Bolte h police department h bhrasht koi humare against kuch ni krega or idr Jo kisi ne Kia usko hum maal tez krk maar denge .mam koi aisa solution btaiye ki hum yha se nikal jayein or inko saza bhi mile or next 2yrs jb tk humari padhai ni complete hojati tb tk maintainance.or sbse important cheez complaint krne k baad security..ni to ye insaan maar dalega

Sheeba

March 18, 2024

My husband & mother in law abuse me & husband beaten me

Kajal khatoon

August 29, 2022

Hello sir my name is kajal khatoon or meri maa mujhe bhut Marti b gandi gandi galiya deti h jaan se marne ki kosis bhi kr chuki h or dhmkiya deti h bhut Marti h aaj bhi mujhe maara gaya h agar main kehti hu police ko bol dugi to mera fon chin liya jata h sir plzz help me sir

Nyaaya

September 5, 2022

Do you want to file a complaint?

Veera Lawrence

March 3, 2024

Hi,muzhe apne husband se bahut pareshani hai.woh drinks pi ke chub logo se aur mere saath bhi ladte hai.aap bahaeye ki mein kya karu

Ratna sonawane

March 4, 2024

Mere shadi ko 3 saal hue hai .. mere pati roj drink karke aata hai or mujhe bolte hai k mere ghr se nikal ja matre bhi hai or gandi gandi galiya bhi dete hai

Rahul Rathod

April 26, 2024

Hi,

I need support from you for my mother and my family against my father. He is a very toxic and threatening person. We have been living separately from him for 10 years because he beat my mother badly, and at that time, we filed a complaint against him. However, no strong action was taken by the police. Now, he frequently comes to our relatives and abuses us, giving many threats that he will kill us if he finds us. We are living separately, but he doesn’t know where, and he is desperately searching for us.

I am the elder son of my mother, and I have two sisters. The whole family depends on me. If I lose my job because of this, we will have nothing. We don’t want to confront him face to face because we don’t know what he will do afterward. He may follow us and definitely do something harmful to my family. So, I would like to request your help.

Puspa Ray Mandal

November 3, 2022

Hlw sir, mera name puspa Ray Mandal h, main apne husband (Sujit Mandal) se bahut pareshan hun wo pikar ate h aur mujhe janwar ke tarah marte rahte h aur bolte h mar dalenge ,mere sasural Wale meri koi help nahi karte h, wo log sirf dekhte rahte h, meri 2 beti h wo log ko v kabhi kabhi marte h mere sath,mujhe aaplogo ki help chahiye pls meri help kare

Nyaaya

November 11, 2022

Thank you for writing to Nyaaya. Ma’am, aap chaahein toh aap apne pati ke khilaaf police complaint kar sakte hain. Hum aapki complaint file nahi kar sakte, lekin hum aapko Free Legal Aid dilwa sakte hain, yadi aapko chahiye.

Ratna sonawane

March 4, 2024

Mere pati mere sath bohot bura bartav krte hai .. roh drink krte hai marte hai. Or gandi gandi galiya bhi dete hai Mera Chita beta hai dedh saal ka uske samne bhi bohot chillate hai bacha bohot dar jata hai

Saniya

March 17, 2024

Hlo sir mera nam saniya h mai shahara mai rehti hu mera bhai mujhe roj marta h Or mujhe jaan se marne ki dhamki de rha h mujhe yaha se bacha li kiye plsssssssssssss

Varsha kumari

April 27, 2024

Mera husband mujhe blackmail krta hai out mujhe marta hai Mera hath bhi jla diya usme mujhe dhahej ke liye pratadit krta hai mujhe pregnancy me usme mujhe bhut jyada tention di preshan kiya our ab me apne mayke me hu to bhi mujhe nhi ki me de rha muje meri family ko pH krke ulte sidhi dhamki deta hai our blackmail krta hai usne mujhe sadi ke baad man force ki goli milk me deke mere sath jabardasti krne ki koshis kri glt trike se sambandh bnaye usme sath uski ma ne diya our ab uska sath uska bich wala bhai de rha hai mere husband kaname vivek h uske bhai ka name atil hai aaj usne mujhe bhut jyada preshan kr diya hai mujhe susait krne pr majbur kr diya hai

Kanika arora

August 23, 2022

Plz hlp me

Nyaaya

August 25, 2022

You can use The Ask Nyaaya Helpline to ask us any legal questions.

Laxmi

September 11, 2022

Namaskar sir,
Sir meri shadi ko 25 saal ho gye h , mere husband 2016 mai BSF se jabardasti VRS le kr aagye ab na to koi kam krte h na hi ghar m koi help krte h shamko daru pee kr mere or mere baccho ke sath jhagda krte h gali galoch krte h phir mar pitai kerne lagte h kai saal se apni or apne baccho ki Ijjat ke bare m sochte hua kahi koi shikayat nhi kari, but abhi bhot jyada ho gya h mere beti jo final year m padhai krti h ghar m jhagde ki wajah se PG m rahti beta ghar m h job dhood raha h, roj roj ke jhagde ki wajah se ghar ka mahol bhot kharab ho gya h,. Aapse hath jod kr nivedan h mere help kijiye.. Mere husband ka nam praveen kumar h.. Mobile no 9871088527 hai.

Nyaaya

October 7, 2022

घरेलू हिंसा की शिकायत करने का प्रोसेस:-
(1) सबसे पहले पीड़िता को पुलिस स्टेशन या कोर्ट में कम्प्लेन करानी होगी।

(2) इसके बाद, जिस व्यक्ति के खिलाफ कम्प्लेन फाइल हुई है, उसको कोर्ट द्वारा बुलाया जायेगा।

(3) इसके बाद कोर्ट के जज समझेंगे कि दोषी की गलती है या नहीं। और अगर है, तो कितनी गलती है। इसके आधार पर कोर्ट तय करेगी कि पीड़िता को मेंटेनेंस मिलना चाहिए या नहीं।

(4) इसके बाद, कोर्ट दोषी की आर्थिक स्तिथि को ध्यान में रखकर तय करेगी कि पीड़िता को कितना मेंटेनेंस मिलेगा और सुबूतों के आधार पर अपना फाइनल डिसीज़न करेगी।

Aastha

March 2, 2024

Can i file a case against my father who was trying to kill my mom..?

Alka Manral

April 30, 2024

The following laws can be made applicable – IPC, and the Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act, 2005.
First, IPC
a) A charge under 498A against cruelty by husband can be made. Since it is an attempt to murder case causing grave injury or danger to the limb and life of the mother, a claim under S. 489A could also be filed. You, being a relative of your mother, can file a complaint against your father under this section.

b) You can file a case for attempt to murder under IPC Section 307. Section 307 criminalizes an attempt to murder. It is necessary to be proved that the act needs was done with intention or knowledge and the act would have in ordinary course led to death. Here, in term of punishment, the father could be subjected to imprisonment upto 10 years and a fine if no harm is caused and it could be extended to life imprisonment if hurt is caused to the mother.

c) A charge under S 324 could also be made depending on the means by which such an attempt was undertaken. If it was by dangerous weapons and means, then a charge under section 324 could also succeed.

Second, a complaint can be filed under the DV Act as well.
The DV Act covers physical abuse within its ambit. Since the act here endangers the life of the mother causing physical abuse, it would constitute domestic violence under Section 3 of the Act.
You having the knowledge or reason to believe that such an offense has been committed (Section 4) can approach a Police officer, Protection Officers or Service Provider or Magistrate. The father could be subjected to restriction orders, or monetary relief, or compensation among other reliefs.

Roshni mishra

March 23, 2024

Meri sadi mp khandwa 2020 m huyi h mere sath sadi m dhoka hua muje bad m pata chala ki pati sharab peeta h maine sadi se pahle aur mere ghar Walo ne puchha tha sabhi log jhuth bol diye ab sharab pikar mujhe ulta sidha bolata h pati mere mata pita bhai sabko gali deta h muje bhi gaki deta h sas sas bataya to wo bhi muje hi ulta sidha bolane lagi ki shukra h ki sirf gali deta h Marta to nhi sasur bhi muje ulta sidha bole jeth bhi bhi muje ulta sidha bola mujhe sas sasur pati aur jeth milkar mujhe pareshan kiye sas aur pati mere mata pita ko apshabd bolte hn mujhe mansik pratana dete the ews muje bete ki dusri sadi ki dhamki di thi aur muje etna jada mere pati sas aur sasur jeth ne pareshan kiya ki muje myk ana pada mujhe etn pareshan kiya ki meri tabiyat kharab ho gayi ees samay mai myke m hu saural se na koi phone ata h na koi kharch deta h mujhe par ulta sidha arop lagati h pati jeth dono sharabi hn pati ka name ashish mishra jeth Om Prakash Misha sas malti p mishra sasur gyanendra mishra h mai up aur pikar mujhe mere mata pita ko gali deta deta prayagraj se sadi mp khabdwa m huyi h mai bahut pareshan hu

Varsha kumari

April 27, 2024

मैने अपने घर पर अपने माँ पिता को बताया ☹️सब तो वो मेरा साथ नहीं देते अपनी बदनामी के डर से बोलते है जैसे भी है तुझे इसके ही साथ रेहना है वरना हमारी समाज में बदनामी होगी की बेटी के साथ ये हुआ मायके में पड़ी है प्लीज मेरी मदद कीजिये मुझे मेरा हस्वेन्ड मारता है ब्लेकमैल करता है टोर्चर करता है मुझे उसने जला दिया पर्गनेन्सि में भी उसने मेरा साथ नहीं दिया मूझे बहुत ज्यादा टोर्चर किया दहेज के लिए बाईक के लिए फोर्स किया मुझे मेन फोर्स कि गोली दी और जबरदस्ती सम्बन्ध बनाने की कोशिश करी अब मैं अपने मायके आ ग ई तो मैरे पापा को फोन करके उल्टा सीधा धमकी दे रहा है प्लीज हेल्प मी

Chandni

August 28, 2022

Mere husband ek saal pehle mujse jhut bol k gaon gae gaon mei shadi kiya Dusri aurat k sath reh Raha hai mere sasural Wale aur mere husband Puri family muje maari hai case karne gai koi case nhi liya chawki mei family matter bol k return bhej diye

Nyaaya

September 5, 2022

Your husband has committed offence under section 494 of Indian Penal Code when he has married to another woman whereas previously he married you, and his family is liable under section 498A of Indian Penal Code when they have beaten you. When police officers are not writing down the FIR you may approach the magistrate under Section 198A of Criminal Procedure Code where he will direct the police officers to write your report and will proceed further.

Suneeta yadav

October 3, 2022

Ma’am phir aapne kya Kiya?

Malathi Joshi

September 4, 2022

My husband beats me and harasses me

Nyaaya

September 5, 2022

You can file a domestic violence complaint following the steps given in the explainer above.

Amir shaikh

September 9, 2022

wife filed false complaint against me under domestic violence. she want i need to settle in her hometown with her parents so she use to go to her hometown and not coming back to my home. Now she is there with her parents since last 9 months and now i sent legal notice then she filed false complaint against me. what is solution

Nyaaya

September 19, 2022

If a false case is registered by a wife on her husband than two things can be done, namely, at first to defend yourself and wait for the judgement from the court or to file a counter case on your wife. Both can be further explained. If you are ready for defence (husband), then at first you require to safeguard yourself and family from being arrested on false allegations by filing or getting an anticipatory bail or any other such thing that totally depends on the situation at that time. Further one need to collect as many proves as possible to protect themselves for example call records, mails, photographs, messages, statements of neighbours and localities and many such things. Collecting evidence on not taking dowry and that the wife has moved out from the bond of marriage without any valid reason. The evidence will help during anticipatory bail or on getting notice of bail from the court.
You can even file a complaint on the grounds of Restitution of Conjugal Rights RCR, if the wife has left the husband’s place without any valid reasons and before she comes back the husband can lay down various conditions too for peaceful living.
Section 120B of Indian Penal Code 1860, talks about punishment for criminal conspiracy, where if there is a false case registered then the husband can file a case against his wife under this section as her intentions are to commit a crime against you.

Anjali kapoor

September 22, 2022

May husband beate. Me 1 day back that i god my ear membnare perforated and i am unable to hear from left ear .i have got bruises over neck and face

Nyaaya

September 26, 2022

Thank you for contacting Nyaaya. We are so sorry to learn about your situation. Here are some steps you can take:

You or anyone on your behalf, can approach the authorities listed below to file a complaint against any domestic violence that you have been facing:

Police
Go to the Police Station

You can approach the police station in your area, or any other police station, and file a complaint for domestic violence. The police will file a DIR/FIR and/or direct you to the Protection Officer of the district who will be able to help you out further.

Protection Officer
Approach the Protection Officer

To file a complaint, the Protection Officer of the district will be the first point of contact for you. The Protection Officer will help you file a Domestic Incident Report (DIR), make applications to the Court to get you monetary relief, protection etc. A state-by-state list of Protection Officers is given here. If you cannot find the Protection Officer of your area, you can reach out to NGOs, civil society organizations and service providers who will put you in touch with one.

National and State Commissions for Women

Approach the National/State Commission for Women

National Commission for Women (NCW) is a national-level government organization that is empowered to investigate complaints related to issues faced by women, such as domestic violence, dowry harassment, rape, etc. The NCW will help you by:

• Monitoring and expediting the investigations being led by the police.
• Providing counselling or a hearing before the NCW, so that the dispute can be resolved between the two parties.
• Constituting an Inquiry Committee which makes spot inquiries, examines witnesses, collects evidence and submits the report with recommendations regarding domestic violence.

Jancy

September 23, 2022

My dad was working as a driver cum technician to a person in my village in his water purification plant.
The owner failed to pay dad’s salary and delayed almost for two years.
There is no proof to show the police that is maintained in the water plant. All most 6 laks he was supposed to pay out of which he paid in small amount each month in total of Rs 1,40,000. Balance amount is cheating now and not ready to settle the amount. Inspite of all these he has given multiple complaints against dad stating false allegations.

We are helpless now. Dad’s literally worried about it. Being a middle class family it’s a huge amount for us.

Can you suggest me if we could do something about it.
Email: jancyp15@gmail.com

Nyaaya

September 29, 2022

Tank you for writing to Nyaaya and sharing your concerns with us. Here are some steps you can take:
1. First and foremost, send a detailed legal notice to your employer mentioning all the reasons why you are aggrieved. It is recommended that you send this legal notice within 90 days from the lapse of salary payment.
2. If you earned less than Rs 18,000 a month you can approach the labour commissioner to seek redressal.
3. Cases that come to the labour court must be decided upon within a three-month period. If the matter is not resolved by the labour commissioner the same can be pursued in a court of law by the employee.
4. If your salary is more than Rs 18,000 a month then you can pursue the matter in a civil court.

Free Legal Aid
If your current annual income is less than Rs. 3 Lac or if you are a senior citizen having annual income less than Rs. 4 Lac then you can avail free legal services in New Delhi (to see the limit for your state,follow this link https://nalsa.gov.in/services/legal-aid/eligibility

You can apply for free legal aid either offline or online. You can fill up the ready-made form/application form that is available at your nearest Legal Services Authority and submit the same at either the Authority physically, or post the application to the Authority.
You can even make an application in writing on a simple piece of paper with the necessary details such as your name, gender, residential address, employment status, nationality, whether SC/ST (with proof in support), income per month (with affidavit), the case for which legal aid is required, reason for seeking legal aid, etc. and submit it physically or send by post.
Another option is to send the application online i.e. by email to NALSA (at nalsa-dla@nic.in), or through the online application form available online at NALSA’s website by going on the ‘Online Application’ Link on the Home Page, along with uploading necessary documents.

Also, the New Delhi legal services Authority provides solution to legal problems through 24×7 Telephone Helpline No. 1516. Our Legal Services Advocates hear the grievances and give suitable legal advice to the needy.

Sushma

October 4, 2022

Hello, my name is sushma i have went through domestic violence from my parents from 21 years i am 24 i am going through a lot i went through depression last 4 years they caged me in room in our room my brother he try to violates me every time harassment, threat everything they are emotinally and mentally abusing me every day i said if you beat me means i am going to file complaints so they left that concept. But emotionally and mentally i am going thorugh a lot they caged me in 4 years

Daisy sharma

October 9, 2022

Mere husband mujhe mere bete ki vajah se marte hai bhot baar maar chuke h vo mujhe careless smjhte h aur kal to mera glla itni jor se dba k jhanjoda mujhe jaan se maar dete upr se meri saas kehti h krle jo krna hai me kya kru mujhe smjh ni aarha jab bhi mere bete ko chhot lgti h mera pati mujhe maarta hai

Nyaaya

October 25, 2022

घरेलू हिंसा की शिकायत करने का प्रोसेस:-
(1) सबसे पहले पीड़िता को पुलिस स्टेशन या कोर्ट में कम्प्लेन करानी होगी।

(2) इसके बाद, जिस व्यक्ति के खिलाफ कम्प्लेन फाइल हुई है, उसको कोर्ट द्वारा बुलाया जायेगा।

(3) इसके बाद कोर्ट के जज समझेंगे कि दोषी की गलती है या नहीं। और अगर है, तो कितनी गलती है। इसके आधार पर कोर्ट तय करेगी कि पीड़िता को मेंटेनेंस मिलना चाहिए या नहीं।

(4) इसके बाद, कोर्ट दोषी की आर्थिक स्तिथि को ध्यान में रखकर तय करेगी कि पीड़िता को कितना मेंटेनेंस मिलेगा और सुबूतों के आधार पर अपना फाइनल डिसीज़न करेगी।

Mohd mohsin Ali ahmad

November 1, 2022

Meri wife mere saath bahut galat karti hai hmsesha yahi bola karti hai ki duniya ke admi Mar rhe hai tum nhi mqr rhe ho aur itni gandi gandi bat karti ahi ki kya batye hm aap logo ko hm soche the ki khaki admi hi galat hote hai duniya me magr mera aisi biwi ke saath Pala pada hua hai ki hm to ikdum kya batye apko aur humeha yahi kaha karti hai ki aap office jate hai to waha jake ayyashi akrte hai aur humne aaj bike liye hai finance par usi par hu dimag kharab karke baidi hui thi aur 3 bache the iske pet me wo bhi isne meri marji ke khilaf Gira diya hai dawa humse gusse Garmin me Manga ka plz help kare meri

Nyaaya

November 11, 2022

हमें आपसे सहानभूति है। क्या आप अपनी बीवी के खिलाफ कंप्लेंट करना चाहते हैं?

Lalit

January 27, 2024

मेरी गर्लफ्रेंड की जबरदस्ती सादी कराई जा रही है 3 दिन बाद सादी है मुझे क्या करना चाहिए लोकल पुलिस कुछ नही करेगी इस लिए आप बताओ क्या करू में

RAVIKUMAR

December 5, 2023

I am suffering from harrasment from my wife for the last 20 years. Few of them are: 1) She does not allow me to have my cell phone. I have to keep begging her to make call, or receive OTPs for Bank and other transactions. (2) She does not allow me to go out for a walk (3) She does not allow me to attend any Yoga class, or technical or any courses (4) She does not allow me to go for any work. All that she wants is lock me in a room whole day and night. Even after this, she accuses me having affair with someone and utter unparliamantery words. I have been tolerating this and many more for the sake of my children. Now all of them are settled abroad. As I no more can tolerate this, and cannot get out of the house, I am seeking your help please!

Yash Mestry

January 4, 2024

My sister was beaten by her husband only after 2 motnhs of marraige. She then decided to leave and cam back to maiden place expecting that the husband learns from his mistake and will call her back. Instead he filed a case for divorce within 6 months and is trying to settle it without any compensation. We did not file any case against him for a year. What should be our action to safeguard my sister’s future?

Priya

April 10, 2024

ഭർത്താവിന്റെ നിരന്തര പീഡനം മൂലം മടുത്തു. എനിക്കും എന്റെ മക്കൾക്കും ജീവന് ഭീഷണിയുണ്ട്.

Rachana

February 4, 2024

Hello, I am sure of being in a position to file a police complaint.
But I want to know what happens after filing a police complaint. I cannot continue to live with my abusive husband after making a complaint as he is sure to make mine and my kids’ lives more miserable.

Vaishali

February 19, 2024

Mera Pati mujhe janwaro ki Tarah Marta h or uske sb ghrwale bhi bhut marte h m bihar hu koi mujhe khana pani b nhi de raha h Pati bhi bol b nhi raha h mujhe ghr se bhar nikal diya tha fir mane 112 ki sahayta li or vo mujhe yha rehne k liye sbko bolkr gye h ki isko koi nikal ni sakta pr mujhe dar lag raha h ki y log fine esa na karde mere sath kirpaya koi sujhav de

Alka Manral

April 26, 2024

You are a victim of domestic violence, and your husband and his family members are mistreating you. You are from Bihar, and it appears that you are not being provided with food or water, and your husband is not communicating with you. You were thrown out of the house, and you sought help from the 112 emergency service, which temporarily resolved the situation. However, you are still afraid that your husband’s family members may harm you.
Here are some steps you can take to protect yourself and seek help:
Contact the local police: If you feel threatened or in danger, reach out to the local police station immediately. Explain your situation and ask for protection.
Contact a women’s helpline: Call the Women’s Helpline at 181 (Women in Distress Helpline) or 1091 (National Commission for Women Helpline) to seek help and support. They can provide guidance and assistance, including connecting you with counselors, legal aid, and shelter services.
Reach out to a local NGO or women’s organization: Many organizations work to help women in distress. Look for a local NGO or women’s organization in your area and contact them for support.
Legal recourse: Consult with a lawyer to discuss your options for legal protection, such as filing a domestic violence case under the Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act, 2005.
Document the abuse: Keep a record of the incidents of abuse, including dates, times, and any witnesses. If possible, take photographs of any injuries and keep any medical records. This information may be useful in court.
Reach out to family and friends: If you have supportive family members or friends, contact them for help and assistance. They may be able to provide you with temporary shelter or help you access resources.
Remember, you have the right to live a life free from violence and abuse. Don’t hesitate to seek help and support from the available resources to ensure your safety and well-being.

Mitesh Jain

March 11, 2024

Hi,
My wife and her family is torturing me and my family. I am staying alone after July 2019. I am staying out of india due to my job. I have called my wife and my son in Dec 2020 in Air bubble flight during covid. She agree when i have requested so many times and again she left me in Sep. 2021 after that Me and my family lot of mental stress. It is completely domestic violence against me and my family. There are lot of things happen with me which i can’t able to explain because I don’t have that much evidence. Now her family is trying to file a complain against me for doing nothing. Please advice how can I get out from this situation. I am always thinking about suicide but i don’t want to give up. I am very tense about my parents.One time she slap me also. I am under too much depression and mental stress. I can’t able to focus in my job too. Who will help me in this situation ?
Thank You

Savita arya

March 20, 2024

Mairai husband roj marpit or gandi gandi gali daitai hai apni bhabhi bhai or sister kai kahanai pai mujai randi booltai makan apnai naam karwana chahtai hai jo marai father nai diya hai mujai mainai police complent bhi ki 100 per koi nahi aya roj ka kaam hai plz help me

Aastha Singhal

April 14, 2024

I have a step brother . We always treated him with love and support. As he is started growing. He used to hit me and my family members. He used to abuse all of us . My father slipped into depression because of him and we failed to help him as a result he is not with us today. Atleast away from this bad son. But now there are only girls in the home . Me my mother and my sisters . He give us rape and other bad threats and say he can kill us easily. And ask us to leave home because as per him, we are living in his house. PLEASE HELP. We all are at risk

Kajal

April 19, 2024

Mam mere parents meri jabarjasti saadi kara rahe h jab mene saadi k liye mana kiya to mujhe bhut buri tarah mara aur jaan se marne tk le gye the vo to vaha kuch log aa gye unhone mujhe bacha liya mam khana pina nhi dete aur jabarjasti kar rhe h inke khilaaf koi action lijiye varna me jaan de dungi apni

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Have a question you want to ask our legal experts?

Related Resources

Who can seek Protection against Domestic Violence?

Any woman can file a complaint and seek protection against domestic violence under the law, for herself and her child/children. The religion of the woman does not matter.
Crimes and Violence

What is the Time Limit to Complain against Domestic Violence?

There is no specific time limit for filing a complaint against domestic violence, but you must be able to prove that you were in a domestic relationship with the harasser at the time the violence took place.
Crimes and Violence

How can you get Immediate Protection for Domestic Violence?

To seek immediate protection from domestic violence, you should file an application with the Court with the help of a Protection Officer or a lawyer.
Crimes and Violence

What is Counseling under Domestic Violence law?

Counseling refers to the provision of professional guidance by a counselor, who will help you and your harasser settle the matter of the domestic violence you have faced, furnish a guarantee that violence will not repeat, and come up with the best possible solution to the problem of domestic violence.
Crimes and Violence

What is domestic violence?

Domestic violence refers to violent or abusive behavior in a household that causes harm and may put the health and safety of a woman or any child under her custody in danger.
Crimes and Violence

What is a Shared Household ?

You live in a shared household with your harasser if you lived with the harasser, have a domestic relationship with the harasser and have/do not have a legal share in the house.
Crimes and Violence